Today is municipal election day, and as we are choosing candidates for Ottawa City Councillor, I think it is important to reflect on how some of the incumbents voted on an issue that was important to HAO members.

Remember the Atheist Bus Ad Campaign of Spring 2009 that was almost banned by City Council?

Well, below is a list of all of the incumbents and how they voted. If you find yourself on the fence in choosing your councillor, perhaps this list might help tip the scales for you:

Approved by:
Clive Doucet: Mayoral Candidate
Christine Leadman: Ward 15 – Kitchissippi
Peter Hume: Ward 18 – Alta Vista
Diane Holmes: Ward 14 – Somerset
Jan Harder: Ward 3 – Barrhaven
Michel Bellemare: Ward 11 – Beacon Hill-Cyrville
Peggy Feltmate: Not Running
Steve Desroches: Ward 22 – Gloucester-South Nepean
Jacques Legendre: Not Running
Georges Bédard: Ward 12 – Rideau-Vanier
Gord Hunter – Not Running
Shad Qadri: Ward 6 – Stittsville-Kanata West
Alex Cullen: Ward 7 – Bay

Voting against the motion:
Larry O’Brien: Mayoral Candidate (current Mayor)
Marianne Wilkinson: Ward 4 – Kanata North
Bob Monette: Ward 1 – Orleans
Rainer Bloess: Ward 2 – Innes
Eli El-Shantiry: Ward 5 – West Carleton-March
Doug Thompson: Ward 20 – Osgoode
Rob Jellett: Ward 19 – Cumberland